Team India qualifies for ITPF World Cup

Indian tent pegging team has secured a place in ITPF World Cup after a stupendous show at World Cup Qualifiers. Out of 7 competitions held at qualifiers, India clinched 6 Gold medals & 1 Bronze medal.


India finished first in the tournament with a total of 515 points. Pakistan came second with 482.5 points followed by Nepal at third place with 457.5 points. Belarus & USA finished with 220.5 & 183.5 points respectively.


Indian tent pegging team qualified for World Cup comprised of Dinesh G Karlekar, BR Jena, Mohit Kumar, Sandeep Kumar & Harikesh Singh.


Mr. Ahmad Afsar Coach & Manager of Indian team said, “It has been an excellent experience for us and I am extremely delighted with the way our riders have performed all through the tournament. I would like to congratulate each member of our team & support staff. Their hard work, dedication and relentless efforts have successfully augmented in securing a place for India in ITPF World Cup. Proud to be a part of the glorious team and confident of doing well at the upcoming World Cup 2023.


Mr Abid Tarin, Board Member ITPF & Deputy Secretary General Asian Equestrian Federation said, “It is a pleasure to witness the World Cup Qualifiers 2021 in India. As always, the warm hospitality and welcome extended by the National Equestrian Federation of India and the Organising Committee is beyond expectations. We have witnessed some top level Tent Pegging at the event and the overall organisation of the event, fairness in the draw of lots and judging was totally transparent. We extend our gratitude to the National Equestrian Federation of India and the organizing committee EquiWings.


A Total of five teams including India, Belarus, USA, Pakistan and Nepal competed at World Cup Qualifiers held from 16 – 18 March 2021 at Gautam Buddha University Equestrian Ground, Greater Noida.


Mr. Rafat Bella, ITPF Board member from Sudan & Mr. Mansoor Al Mahrouqi ITPF board member from Oman

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button