A six-member parliamentary delegation of the Trinamool Congress will meet Election Commission officials in Delhi

Desk: A six member parliamentary delegation of the Trinamool Congress(TMC) will meet officials of the Election Commission (EC) in Delhi today soon at 12 noon. It is related to the attack on TMC chief Mamata Banerjee at Nandigram. Six TMC MPs from both the Houses of Parliament will meet the EC officials.

The delegation team comprises of Derek O’Brien (Leader, AITC Parliamentary Party, Rajya Sabha), Saugat Roy (MP, Lok Sabha), Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar (MP, Lok Sabha), Satbadi Roy (MP, Lok Sabha), Pratima Mandal (MP, Lok Sabha), and Santanu Sen (MP, Rajya Sabha).

The delegation team also talked to EC officials in Kolkata on Thursday. Later the team alleged that the Election Commission did nothing in spite of the possible attack reports on the Chief Minister.

The team claims that the attack was a conspiracy to take Banerjee’s life. They also alleged that anti-social elements were sent by the BJP from the neighbouring states to spread violence. Factually, EC cannot abstain from responsibility in the situation of law and order in West Bengal.

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee was hurt while she was in an election campaign in Nandigram. She had a leg injury after which she was transferred to Kolkata for treatment on the same night. Mamata claims that she got attacked by few people. She was then pushed her into a car and then tried to forcibly close the door of the car.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button