75 artists join hands for a musical tribute to celebrate 75 years of Independence

To celebrate the 75 glorious years of Independence and in keeping with Government of India’s Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav, Harshavardhan Neotia, Chairman, Ambuja Neotia presents Jaya Hey 2.0, a musical tribute involving 75 artistes from across India, supportedby the Ambuja Neotia Group.

Conceptualised, music composed & directed by Sourendro Mullick and Soumyojit Das, better known as the Sourendro-Soumyojit duo, Jaya Hey 2.0 is a rendition of the full 5 verses of Bharat Bhagya Vidhata aka Jana Gana Mana, a timeless tune that fills us with pride, love, admiration and reverence for our dear Motherland.

The song Bharat Bhagya Vidhata was written by Rabindranath Tagore in 1911 and had five stanzas. However, only the first stanza was adopted as our National Anthem in the 1950’s, to keep the song’s duration well within one minute.

With Harshavardhan Neotia lending his voice to stitch together the theme of integrity and freedom.“The essence of India as a nation lies in her plurality and unity in diversity. Many have sacrificed their lives to give us our freedom. It is essential that every individual of this county remembers that and collectively make a conscious effort to keep the essence alive. As a Group, we had earlier created a similar version of the complete song of Jana Gana Mana in collaboration with 39 performers. This year, paying tribute in reverence to the 75 years of Indian Independence, we have joined hands with 75 singers and musicians to seek inspiration in the words of Gurudev Rabindranath Tagore. Let us sing in unison and bow down before the souls who earned us our freedom. Personally for me, the verses fill me with immense pride for being an Indian and give me hope to overcome any obstacle that life throws at us,” said Ambuja Neotia Chairman Harshavardhan Neotia.


“We are so happy to create this musical bouquet, a humble offering to the motherland from the artistes’ fraternity. The journey of putting it together was larger than life in its own way.We are thankful to the overwhelming support of Shri Harshavardhan Neotia who encouraged us to spread our wings and catch the infinite joy of achieving the unity of the diverse music, diverse belief, and the varied philosophies of India – draped in one anthem of togetherness. We are indebted to the sheer genius of Gurudev Tagore. We thank our fellow musicians for collaborating voluntarily. We thank all the little boys who held the National Flag high for our anthem. We thank the crew members for braving the challenges and making it happen. We have created Jaya Hey 2.0 for every Indian, for all who believe in the values of our country – musically, philosophically,” said the Sourendra-Soumyojit duo.


The 75 artistes who have collaborated for Jaya Hey includes stalwarts and veterans of the music industry such as Asha Bhosle, Amjad Ali Khan, Hariprasad Chaurasia, Hariharan, Rashid Khan, Ajoy Chakrabarty, Shubha Mudgal, Aruna Sairam, L. Subramaniam, Vishwa Mohan Bhatt, Vikku Vinayakram, Lou Majaw,Anup Jalota, Parveen Sultana,Kumar Sanu, Sivamani, Bombay Jayashri,Udit Narayan, Alka Yagnik, Mohit Chauhan, Papon, Shaan, Kailash Kher, Sadhana Sargam, Shantanu Moitra and V. Selvaganeshamong others.

The list of artistes also includes successful young musiciansfrom across the country who have created a niche for themselves, such as Kaushiki Chakraborty, Shreya Ghosal, Mahesh Kale, Amaan Ali Bangash, Aayan Ali Bangash, Tetseo Sisters, Amrit Ramnath, Omkar Dhumal,Ambi Subramaniamand Rhythm Shaw among others.

Popular names from Bengal representing different genres of music include Usha Uthup, Somlata Acharyya Chowdhury, Parvathy Baul, Anupam Roy, Rupam Islamamong others.

Jaya Hey 2.0is now available on YouTube. The link is

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button